The Human Machine...

I came across 2 Bethany things that convinced me that real computerised AI (Matrix type) is a long, long way off.

At the safari park yesterday, Bethany and me were walking across the sand pit to find a spare bucket and spade and we passed 2 logs on their side that had been roughly fashioned into a train and carriage. She didn't say tree or wood, she picked it out as a train. I never told her that it was meant to look like a train, she'd never seen this specific one before but picked it out as a train likeness.

It's the type of thing adults take for granted but it is a sign of true intelligence and I find it fascinating seeing it develop.

The other slightly different instance was tonight when she was helping me empty the washing machine and to find the last of the wee socks I told her to "spin it around" and she just went straight ahead and grabbed the inside of the washing machine a moved it round to find the odd socks.

I just said it as a matter of course but have never shown her how a washing machine works, she just knows it and has picked it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.