Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Spanish Baby Time

Cristina, the mother of my granddaughter and partner of my son Seth, started a fine new venture today: an hour of Spanish language songs, books, and games for babies and their parents. There's a church in the Mt. Tabor area that rents out space for community use, and she'll be having baby time every Friday for the foreseeable future. Ten parents and twelve children showed up, and I took pictures for the website and brochure Cristina is putting together. I didn't get permission to post pictures of the babies and parents, so I'm posting one in which only Cristina is in focus.  It was a lively morning and I felt privileged to be there.

On the website, Cristina writes: "I decided to create Spanish Baby Time because I have not been able to find a Spanish playgroup for my little girl now 1 year old. The purpose of this group is to expose little ones to Español through song, play, rhymes and reading books out loud. If your first or second language is Español or you would like your child to learn or hear another language come join us." Cristina had prepared handouts, a flip chart, games, and music, and she was gracious, patient, and just all-around wonderful.

That was the morning, and in the afternoon I took part in the Elder Caucus of Occupy Portland, so it was a full day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.