Ben's Cathedral

Today Daughter E and I went to the Festival of Flowers held in the Christchurch Botanic Gardens. We came across Ben's Cathedral, these are Ben's words:

"I made this Christchurch Cathedral for the 'Art in a Garden' in Hawarden last October. Every year we put presents under the tree in the Cathedral. Now, we can't do that. It took me 3-4 weeks to make the Cathedral. I did the design from photos on the computer and I did the measuring and sawing. First I made it out of cardboard. I tried using bricks but it was too heavy.

Finally, I made it out of tin and bits I found in the yard. Mum helped with cutting the tin and Dad helped me put it together. I really like hammering and pot riveting. The parts that stick out on each side were the tricky bits and we had to build a frame for it".

Ben is 11 years old, I think hes made a superb Cathedral.

A cool day but quite pleasant roaming the gardens under the shade of the trees. There were many things to see for young and old, I particulary enjoyed seeing the delights of young children discovering hidden wooden birds in the NZ native section of the gardens. Daughter E and I ended our time with a welcome hot chocolate at a nearby cafe, a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.