The Yorkshire Wart

I think you probably need to look at this in large. I had a choice of two blips to upload today. The alternative one I like because of the human element of the two climbers, but I have gone with the larger view of Almscliffe Crags because it's one of those places on our almost doorstep that we often say we should visit and never quite get round to. I haven't been since a child with mum and dad, and Tony has never been but today we were heading home from orienteering on the Howardian Hills (Gilling to be exact) and this time we decided to detour to the crags. They are known locally as the Yorkshire Wart because of their shape and position on top of the hill. They do look like a wart from some distance. I was baffled by several people around the crags carrying mini mattresses (there is a red one centre shot on this blip) and Tony explained that they are for bouldering so that the climbers have a cushion to fall back on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.