To the Bar

These nights on bar duty come round too quickly! Admittedly they'd come round less quickly if I wasn't quite so tardy at organising a new rota. Inevitably the old rota runs out and I think, I better do something about that (whilst wondering why it's fallen to me to sort out - am I some sort of easy going fool - is that what they think? Or worse, do I just need to be needed?), but by then it's a bit unfair to get someone at such short notice so I think, I'll do it. What a drag. Especially for the punters on the other side of the bar. In truth, I'll be in my element. I love the wee washy brushes under the counter with the foamy water. And the kerrching as the till drawer shoots open. I'd actually like to ring the bell at time but I've observed that we don't bother with that so I better not. Wouldn't be like to be thought a bit odd. Eccentric to a point is OK. "Finish your games and finish your drinks" - yes, that's what I'll shout.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.