Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

The Old Church Barrow

Firstly, a massive big thanks to everyone for all the comments and good wishes on my 200th blip yesterday. I was totally overwhelmed by the number of stars and hearts and quite gob-smacked in the afternoon to see my Snowy Sunrise sitting at the top of the Spotlight page. Don't fancy that will happen again soon! I have tried to reply to everyone personally, but if I have missed anybody out, please accept my apologies and belated thanks. I suppose I should also thank Mrs B for putting up we me sitting at the laptop all day!

Today marked a change of routine for me. I was recently appointed Fabric Convenor of our local church, which I reckon is something of a poisoned chalice given the poor condition of our buildings. The more I think about it the more I am convinced I must had done something seriously wrong in a former life to deserve this! Anyway, having identified the main repairs and work required on the church, we set about our first task. This involved getting a work party of about a dozen volunteers to remove unstable plasterwork from a complete gable end. I have to say the team worked well together and had the scaffolding up and down, plasterwork removed and the whole place cleaned up by the end of the day. A great example of many hands making light work of a significant task.

Like many churches, we have problems with our roof and just about every issue identified is associated with damp. Not surprising really, given we have had almost 100 inches of rain in the last year! The only thing we haven't found is dry rot. I wonder why!

Amidst all the work, on a wet and miserable day, I found a few moments to blip an old wheel barrow that was hidden at the back of a cupboard in the church. It was made a long time ago by a member to help with maintenance of the church grounds. I felt it had a bit of character and made me think of years gone by when my father was the minister and the congregation was thriving.

Before anyone asks, its an old bookcase sitting in the barrow, which is destined for the dump!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.