Anthem X29

Working on presentations, then a pitch to a prospect; went pretty well, and then picked up my demo bike.

Yes, I am selling myself on the idea of a 29er (most mountain bikes are 26" wheels) and the potential benefits they offer - better roll over rocks, more traction etc. But there are some, downsides, maybe slower in some cases to get going, not as ideal on single tracks.

But, the bike I rode tonight, the Giant Anthem X1 29er, felt pretty good. In fact great.

Tomorrow morning I'll do a more indicative test. Two rides up/down Kennedys, once on each bike.

I'll be stuffed by the end of it, but I'm looking forward to seeing if there is (much of) a difference.

Interestingly (for bike nerds), it still fits in my bike bag, in fact maybe even slightly better than my 26, and, it is just a fraction lighter, by about 100g than my Giant Trance X1.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.