earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Lost in Reflection and Shadow

Spring arrived today in Yorkshire! Winter will return shortly I'm sure, but it was nice to be reminded of what we have to look forward to fairly soon now. When the sun came out is was positively balmy. I went for another run at lunchtime, this time into Hirst Wood. It felt great to be running in shorts and shirtsleeves, and without the need for gloves. Out of the wind you could easily have sunbathed!

This image is as busy as Sunday's blip was simple, but I rather like it all the same. Indeed, it's so busy that you can lose yourself amongst all those reflections and shadows. Perhaps that's why I like it. It has a kind of dreamy quality.

This bridge carries the Leeds and Liverpool Canal over the River Aire and this little inlet. It has always seemed strange to be running along the canal at this point and to be able look down on another water course. It looks so natural in most places that is easy to forget that the canal has been entirely engineered.

Apart from being able to enjoy the beautiful weather it was just great to be able to escape the office today. I've been setting up a new desktop machine, so I don't need to be so tied to my laptop, but it's been such a painful process. All I'm doing is setting up the identical development environment but there have been problems at every stage. Nothing has been straightforward. There was a time when I enjoyed the challenge of solving these kind of problems. Not any more. I just want things to work. How hard should that be ... really?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.