EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

What a LAFF (Luxor African Film Festival)

Luxor rarely holds a Cultural Event, so when we heard that the African Film Festival was going to be held in Luxor, everyone was very excited!

The Festival was opened today at Luxor Temple. The audience were a mix of directors, actors, actresses, Government officials, including our Luxor Governor, Dr.Ezaat Saad, journalists, camera crews and me! I was with my friend Mena, who writes and produces Luxor Times. We had word that the Governor was opening the new corniche on the East Bank and after would be heading to Luxor Temple.

We were in a motorboat and gave chase, as we were told they were leaving as we arrived on the Corniche. The Nile was quite choppy, Mena and I laughed uncontrollably (FEAR!) and were a little green when we arrived on dry land!

The road that runs adjacent to Luxor Temple, was lined with army personnel and some serious SWAT guys. There was no chance of a photo of these men, I would have been carted away I was told, this was serious security.

Armed with just our passes and cameras, we walked into the hustle bustle and glamour that was the Luxor African Film Festival arena. Immediately I felt under dressed and under made up, I was really pleased I made the decision to wear sparkly ear-rings and sandals, so I had an element of red carpet about me :-)

Such a refreshing change? Long hair being thrown around, lip gloss in abundance, glittering jewellery, arty type guys, COOL people in shades and beautiful smiles everywhere for the cameras. This felt like the Oscars!

Mena kept nudging me and telling me who was near to us, or who was being interviewed etc of course I had no idea who these people were!

Cinema is a global language. African film makers and directors are the most influential pioneers of African Cinema. Set against the World famous Luxor Temple, on the sacred Pharoanic land, this Arts and Cultural Festival is a meeting of sons and daughters here in Africa.

Teza was the first film to be screened at the 1st LAFF and was made in Ethiopia.

The Festival runs from 21st until 28th February, with films being shown in various locations throughout Luxor.

Much as I enjoyed the event, I declined dinner at Luxor Temple as 'Bob' my cat, needed his dinner. I had been out too long and I knew he would be hungry. Not very 'Filmstar' of me :-)

More photos



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.