Low Tide

Another walk at Newport today, this time at a very low tide and on the other side of the estuary. Here are Ceridwen and Casey, a little while before the fog lifted. We gathered a large haul of limpets, mussels, and sea beets to eat, and I scored a few winkles as well.

I had been to this same stretch of beach before, but never as far along it as we went today. There are caves in the cliff faces that the sea has carved out, and the rocks bear many striking colors, what with all the different minerals oozing through each other for these thousands of years. The brown color you see splashed on the black rocks of the beach itself is the billions of very small barnacles. I also spotted some colonies of honeycomb worms, which Ceridwen blipped several months ago. The ones I found were submerged in rock pools.

We made a splendid feast of our foraged foods after returning to the house. Then I had a nap with a cat named Fred parked on my chest, reminding me of my Carlo, who (I hope) misses me back home across the wide ocean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.