Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Vintage Seaside Postcard

After missing the pier and the beach at Southport last Sunday, a return visit was called for so today was the day. Up and out early with rain on the way, expecting to be wet and windswept all day, but it cleared before arriving and whilst overcast was dry and a lovely day.

The pier is the second longest in England and at the end is a small arcade full of old slot machines, a lot of which swallow your old two pence (slightly larger than the current one), but didn't work. I didn't mind as just looking at them was fun. Only £1 was spent.

I loved the footballers wearing the knitted tops and their little moustaches.

Found the best fish and chip shop in a back street, thanks to checking out trip advisor on the phone whilst deciding where to have lunch. I have to have fish & chips when at the coast. It's tradition.

Found a fabulous sweet shop with ALL the sweets I knew as a child, in the glass jars, and came away with 3 bags full!! My favourite were refreshers as they latest the longest and had a bit of fizz in the middle. With 10 pence pocket money I could get 5 and make them last all Saturday. In the earlier years of growing up, I was only allowed sweets on a Saturday, which was a good thing.

The bikers were out in force and it was fun looking around them, with their customisation.

Then it was an ice-cream on the seafront.

I just love seaside kitch! So I have processed the photos to hive them a 70's feel.

I hope you had a good weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.