PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

Desert Island Discs Challenge: Day 9

'So Martin,'

Kirsty Young remarks, in her sexy scottish brogue.

'I suppose that being a PE teacher, you have not actually read many books....'

See I know what you lot are like, and thought I had better say it before Mat Grafton and the Flipscokid starting suggesting 'Five go to Smugglers Top' or 'The Gruffalo.'


Well the book I would like to take with me to my desert island, is 'The Shadow of the Wind,' by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

If you missed it, you must read it. I will give nothing away about its plot. But the rich, textural language sings to you. I seriously regret that my Spanish is not up to reading it in its original form (I can just about order a beer!) but the translator has done a masterful job.

This book is essential part of my summer reading.... every summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.