earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Morning Cycle Commute

I started the day with what seems to be an increasingly regular routine: looking for my keys. After twenty minutes I gave up, by which time I knew that once I'd cycled to work there would be someone at the office to let me in. Of course, as soon as I got there I duly found the keys, left in my trouser pocket from when I cycled back the previous Friday afternoon. It hadn't actually occurred to me that I'd not seen my keys all weekend!

The other day I was getting a little flustered at having lost my keys yet again. After a good long search of all the obvious places Roam asked if I'd checked the key hook (which I'd put up in the kitchen several years ago in order to try to help with this problem) , to which I replied, "No, of course not; I never leave my keys on the key hook". He urged me to humour him and just go check anyway. I reluctantly did what he said and, naturally enough, that was where they were to be found. He said he vaguely remembered seeing them on the floor and putting them on the hook for me. I just about managed to stop myself before saying, "Well that was a bloody stupid place to put them".

My ex dubbed this "absent-minded professor syndrome". She found it endearing for quite a few years, after which it became annoying! I do have a little bit of sympathy for her. It's started to annoy me too now! Is this just a man thing or can it afflict women as well?

Busy day at the office and back late, at 8.30pm, after cycling home. I took a few pictures on the bike ride in this morning and had to trust that I'd got something decent to blip. This is a good journal shot at least. A hot bath awaits and the boys are cooking dinner. I can hear a lot of clanking and a heated discussion going on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.