Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Five point landing

It's been a gorgeous day today - a little on the chilly side, but bright blue sky and sun, no cold wind. I charged up the scooter early this morning and, after taking Liza on an extra long scoot, went back out by myself with all my camera gear to Laurelhurst Park which is ten or so blocks from our house. The first things I came upon were some odd looking ducks - they were very dark with some bluish luminous feathers, and each of them had a feathered ball on top or at the side of their head, a bit like a vintage hat. I haven't been able to identify them, so if you know what they are, please let me know! I wasn't happy with any of the photos I took of them, but have several in my Photobucket folder.

EDIT: Thanks to musings for letting me know they are black crested ducks, domesticated Cayugas. I knew she'd have the answer!

There's usually at least one seagull hanging out here at the lake. I was surprised that this turned out to be my favorite photo of the bunch. Looks good in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.