The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

California Bliss

I arrived in LA today for a series of meetings but the afternoon one ended earlier than I expected. I was not mad that this happened. In fact, I nearly yelped "yahoo" in the boardroom as the CEO declared an end to the meeting at precisely 4:39. I grabbed my camera bag and headed straight for the beach. The wind was wicked and, as I was shooting, I got a few decent shots and one hell of a sand blast.

In any event, life guard towers are epic as I think of California and I have been wanting to try a high contrast beach scene at sunset. The pier in the background is the Santa Monica Pier and the amusement park there is a gas. The array of clouds almost seem to be a by-product of the spinning ferris wheel, much like the puffs of smoke from a steam driven train. The only people on the beach were a few photographers and, sadly, a homeless man under the guard tower. If you look closely or in large, you can see his outline. While the winds gave the clouds wispy forms it also gave the center of the picture a bit of a haze due to the blowing sand.

I have been up 22 hours at this point so I am sorry I will not be seeing much of blipdom tonight. Tomorrow is a full schedule so I am off to bed.

I hope you all have a great week.


This was shot with the D7000 and an 18mm lens, then uploaded on my iPad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.