Up Close! Salon d'Agriculture--Paris

Today I went to the Salon d'Agriculture, at the Porte de Versailles in Paris. It is a mammoth trade fair, lasting nine days, far bigger than any I have every experienced. Out of seven pavilions I spent most of my time at the largest--Elevage, mostly the animals.

Even before I got there, I envisaged a blip with a cow--but lots of uncertainties intervened. It was more difficult than I had imagined to capture really incisive images. Back home, out of over 250 files, I narrowed it to four totally different possibilities, and then called in two other opinions: Marylee and our old friend Liz, visiting from London. This was the choice, by acclamation!

You can see how close you get to the animals--and get some sense of the size of the hall (it's not possible to see the full length--this is much less than that). The persons at the right are looking at the information on the cow--it's a Charolais. It was altogether an impressive experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.