Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Once In A While

The last few moments of a day we won't see for a while!

Every alternate Wednesday I'm out late so when I got home and wondered what to quickly blip I thought: "What better than to record the unusualness of the day!" My first leap day in blip. I hope it won't be my last, but who knows? I expect big changes in my life before the next leap year, every bit as good as the highlights of the past 4 years. I'll make sure I blip them!

So why is February 29th and not February 31st a leap day?

All the other months have 30 or 31 days, but February suffered from the ego of Roman Emperor Caesar Augustus. Under Julius Caesar, February had 30 days, but when Caesar Augustus was emperor he was peeved that his month - August - had only 29 days, whereas the month named after his predecessor Julius - July - had 31. "He pinched a couple of days for August to make it the same as July. And it was poor old February that lost out," says Ian Stewart, emeritus professor of mathematics at Warwick University.


You will have noticed I've been Monkeying around with this! Very sorry to hear of the death of Davy Jones. The music of my teen years.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.