Reframe

As I left work reframe was the word running through my head.

We've had quite a bit going on the last couple of days and it's been stressful. But I managed to reframe things before I left today. It makes all the difference.

I heard yesterday of a teacher at a school close to Christchurch who is telling students not to consider the University of Canterbury because they're stuffed and giving away money to get students to come. Other people say Christchurch is finished and will never recover.

An interesting response to rewarding any high achieving student with a scholarships. I'd bet my house that learned teacher hasn't been near the university.

If the collective response to every natural disaster, war, depression, large scale accident or disaster was negative we wouldn't have much innovation or learning.

I'm standing in a cafe where I took this shot last July. A young couple is transforming this corner, firstly with a cafe built mostly from demolition materials.

They're in their 20s, riding a wave of risk, innovation, flexibility and hope. A community garden is about to start next door and they have other plans for the rest of the land.

I was glad to sooth my raspy throat with one of their organic juices. I wish them the very best. Such a positive encounter.

Reframe indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.