An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mistakes....

Are for learning from.......... and I have had learned a few lessons today!

David was working from home as he was taking Alan to his dental appointment his afternoon, which meant that after work I had some time to myself with my camera! Yay!

Oh the anticipation....Where to go? What to photograph? Buildings or landscapes? Colour or mono. Giddy with the possibilities I was!

Decided to set off and see where I ended up and where I ended up was Auchinstarry Quarry. (I have blipped HERE before.)

Once again I hoped to get some shots of climbers scaling the rocks but to my surprise, the place was deserted. It looks like there has been a recent rock fall (there's an ongoing battle between climbing organisations and North Lanarkshire Council over the council's maintenance programme for the quarry and how it may actually increase the likelihood of rock falls.) The car park was completely empty (and very muddy. Yuk!) so had the whole place to myself.
Perfect I thought. No feeling self conscious about getting the camera out or feeling harassed trying to get the perfect shot.

Took my time. Considered angles and composition, experimented in AV mode, shutter mode and finally in fully manual and enjoyed every minute. Eagerly headed home to see the results.

What a disappointment! They just didn't look how I thought they did on the viewing screen! Scratched my head for a minute or two over what I could have done wrong....then I realised. I hadn't changed my white balance. It was still set for tungsten light after yesterday's blip! Bugger!!

But after saying bad words reminded myself that I'm a glass half full person. To be fair, I am pleased with many of them from a composition and crop point of view (getting much better at cropping in camera rather than afterwards) and happy that I realised where I had gone wrong. But the main lesson I learned was that even though I wasn't self conscious or feeling harassed whilst taking the shots, I still need to SLOW down and think things through properly.

I have toned down the brightness and increased the contrast a little to try and bring the shot closer to what I actually saw. Probably better LARGE.

I blame the giddiness of being outside. All that fresh air turns a girl's head you know! Hoping to be outside again tomorrow! :-))

Happy Thursday Blip Pals....David has just announced dinner is ready and as my weekend has arrived, a wee glass of something cheeky is on the cards.

Oh and Happy Dydd G?yl Dewi to all the Welsh Blippers!

:-)) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.