Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

Sentimental

We all have our time machines. Some take us back, they're called memories. Some take us forward, they're called dreams, some are both.

I've learned that good-byes will always hurt, pictures will never replace having been there, memories good and bad will bring tears, and words can never replace feelings.

This blue sapphire heart necklace was given to me along with a letter by a very special person.

I was 8 years old. It was a gift which I received at the end of my last day at the Primary School I was going to in Arbroath, before a move further North.

My Dad had picked me up after school that day and had handed the little gift box and letter to me, before dropping me off at the bus stop to catch the bus home. He had said not to open it until I was home, but I couldn't wait, and as soon as I was seated on the bus, I started reading the letter, the tears streaming down my cheeks until it was time to get off the bus, I must have been a 'sight for sore eyes' but I had about a mile to walk before I reached my Mum, so I was able to put on a brave face by the time I saw her.

My Mum and Dad were splitting up, and this was from my Dad to let me know how much I meant to him and always would no matter where I moved to, and that although he'd miss me, I'd always be his 'little girl'.

I've kept them for 36yrs, in all those years I could never bring myself to wear the necklace as it reminded me of that day and the sadness of living life from that point without my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.