Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Wood Duck

Had a lovely walk with a good friend this morning at our Urban Horticulture Center near the UW. Now I don't consider myself a "birder" and my friend does better with identifications, but I confess this was really fun to photograph some ducks I've haven't done before. But my favorite shots involve the patterns in the water, even if the ducks could be seen clearer out in the open. I could not resist this wood duck with the reflections of the grasses. Also got some Green winged Teals together -they are so beautiful too. ( many others, including ho hum and eagle in a tree....)
so I will link a few that I put on flicker HERE in case anyone besides my friend might be interested in them... Also I think a male Barrow's Goldeneye traveling with a female bufflehead (Correct if you don't think this is so!) And I know it's not a duck , but there were 40 herons on the top of the UW gym that would have made a good blip. They all flew off at one point, circled and came back to sit there. I don't plan to make a habit of this flicker thing.....
Off to the aquarium tonight (WITHOUT Fiona!) to hear a talk on the health of our Puget sound....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.