Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

New Rug

When I woke up this morning I couldn't help but notice that one of my cats had been sick in my bedroom again. I kept a wall- to- wall carpet from the previous tenant who didn't want any payment for it. I'm not really into wall- to- walls but it was too much bother to arrange all details when I was moving back from Berlin to Bremen. So I kept the thing. The cats loved to use it as an aditional scratching post, an occasional sickbag and I tried to ignore it.

But now things had gone to far. I got into a bad mood immediately and decided to take a trip to a rather well- known furniture shop that uses the colours blue and yellow a lot on it's promotional posters.

On my arrival there I noticed something odd. Someone was playing The Cure over the shop's loudspeaker system. They didn't play it very loud so Robert Smith's voice was like a constant muffled sound from the background. A bit like a whimper, really (please accept my apologies for this remark!). Strange, I thought. Here I am, looking for a Persian rug in a Scandinavian shop while kind of not listening to early 80ties gothic rock. Now when did that turn into muzak? It really made me laugh ;-)

At home, Heathcliff immediately took possesion of the roled- up carpet. As long as he's sick elsewhere I don't mind. I'm going to give my bedroom a thorough cleaning tomorrow before I put the rug in it's place.

Have a lovely time :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.