'Theatre'

On a mission to Airth Castle via Haymarket. Nearly got killed in the rush of eager commuters anxious to get to work at 8 a.m.

The day was good, back with my peers and colleagues, continuing discussions I left off well over a decade ago - is community development an end in itself or an approach. Good to know that the profession hasn't deserted navel gazing - it's an approach!!! - it needs to permeate everything we do, otherwise there is no point in doing it and yes the split into youth work, adult education and community capacity building (and what an ugly phrase THAT is) is NOT helpful nor is the focus on qualifications and outcomes, soft outcomes and engagement are equally important. Rant over.

Surprisingly met Bob, my old lecturer from TC days, last seen about 20 years ago and C, my former Adult Ed Organiser, now at Education Scotland.

I got back to Edinburgh, tired and after a quick trip to JL took the slow bus along George St to the 'Cameo' for NT Live and the 'Comedy of Errors' with Lenny Henry, brilliant and thankfully, for me - relatively short. These live broadcasts are brilliant. I saw my first one in Hollywood nearly 2 years ago.

Fed Molly and fell into bed. Still to pack. Tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.