Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

More gang signs

Back at the concrete pond again. Every day I go, the kids become more relaxed around me. As I pull up on my morotbike, Fitri, who I blipped back on the 16th February, comes running up for her daily greeting of "Hello my darling!" which she then repeats at me for the rest of the day.

Some of the boys have figured out my name and call me Mr Dave. This mister in front of the Christian name is very common here, as usually people only have one name, for example, Tesa's real name is Murtiawati. It is also usual for those with complex names to choose a simple name that people like me can cope with. Tesa tried the obvious name, 'Tia' but didn't like it. I have no idea where 'Tesa' came from and neither does she! Back at the Campung, everyone calles her 'Uti', including her Mom.

The boys also know that they can get my attention from anywhere within ear shot by saying "Liverpool". English football is extremely popular over here, more so than all the other national leagues, the two favorite teams being ManU and Liverpool. When people find out that I am English, football always gets mentioned and they are excited to find out that I am from Liverpool.

I met one young man many years ago, he was about 9 or 10 years old. When I told him my home city, he asked if I support Liverpool or Everton. I decided to be a smart ass and told him Tranmere rovers, as I am actually from Birkenhead, across the Mersey from Liverpool. The young lad then proceeded to name ALL the players in the Tranmere team! I was totally gob smacked, but this just gives you an idea of the enthusiasm for English league.

Back to today's shot. The boys always like to do gang signs because it is cool. They have no idea what it means of course, but it was a fun photograph, hope you like it anyway.

DAve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.