The way I see it.

By christinePears

Ancient Burial Cairns

You never know what you will stumble upon when blip hunting! I was really on my way back from Tesco when I decided to take some back roads and see what I could see. I followed the sign that said "Clava Cairns" and came across an amazing set of stone built bronze age burial cairns that are thought to be 3-4000 years old!

This one is called the north east passage grave and although today it is open to the elements it originally had a dome shaped stone roof. It was carefully and deliberately aligned on the winter solstice and on the shortest day the rear of the chamber was illuminated by the setting sun! It had a ring of standing stones round it's circumference.

These ancient monuments always fill my head with more questions than answers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.