EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

West is best...

I feel so cross with myself, as I just have not had time to 'Blip' for 2 days now! It is a lesson to me, that I need to listen to my Libran instincts and get the balance back into my life. I have been spending more and more time in Luxor and felt I had neglected my side of the river.

So this morning, I went for a cycle. Heading towards the Qorna Mountain, I initially wanted to see the Colossal Statue of Amenhotep III. I have seen him quite a few times, but he sadly had a large piece of white cloth covering him. Yesterday, he was unveiled

This has always been one of my favourite places to sit and enjoy...to me it is the epicenter of the West Bank history. I have no idea why, it just draws me?
I cannot pass without stopping, looking and smiling. Today was no exception.

A wondefrul warm wind, pushed me towards Medinet Habu. Amazingly, I did not even glance at this magnificent Temple, I headed for my favourite street and my favourite house.

Set on a clear, running canal, with the mountain in the background, this lilac house always has 'Small peoples' washing on the line outside....To me, it is idyllic, chocolate box almost.
Today, a small person came out to me and asked me for Halawa (Sweets) I had none, I had nothing, except the camera and a bottle of water. A crowd soon gathered and Ahmed became the star, as I showed him his photo on the camera.

Feels great to be grounded and appreciate what is around you, who is around you and how simple life really is :-)

More of the cycle ride


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.