Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Broad horizon

You must learn day by day, year by year to broaden your horizon. The more things you love, the more you are interested in, the more you enjoy, the more you are indignant about, the more you have left when anything happens.
--Ethel Barrymore.


I have been taking Ethel Barrymore's advice all my life, and I find that anything often does happen, and it is well to have cultivated a broad horizon.

Yesterday I was stunned by the beauty of Giacomo's fisheye city sky blip. He says, "The funny thing about a big city full of sky scrapers is there are no horizons......unless you look straight up." Cracked my mind right open, that line did.

We have had a long, gray winter where I live. It has not been terribly cold, but it has been consistently dismal. This afternoon we had a sun visitation, and I spent some time soaking it up and hunting for one horizon after another with my little pocket camera with its wide angle lens. I am enraptured by these new horizons. I chose this one for its mirror-like reflections and for its confusion of illusion and reality, shadow and substance. More of today's horizons, including a couple in mono, are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.