Art in red

This week the challenge word is art. I have posted many examples of street art and of other forms of public art in my first 450 blips. Although I am confident I could find one that I have not already done, I chose to run past, and photograph, the Auckland Art Gallery which is located in the central city, on a corner of the large area of land which is otherwise Albert Park.

The Main Gallery opened in 1887 as Auckland's Free Public Library and municipal offices, while the part of the building devoted to the gallery opened in 1888. By the time of its centenary, the Art Gallery occupied the whole building, as both the library and the council offices had moved elsewhere. This is the largest art institution in New Zealand, and its large collection includes major holdings of works by Maori and other New Zealand artists, as well as Pacific Island artists, and extensive European collections. The gallery has recently reopened after an extensive period of rebuilding and refurbishing.

The original building was designed in 'French Chateau style' by two Melbourne architects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.