Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

Strikers! I'd shoot the lot.

This photograph was taken outside the Corn Exchange, which became the Public Hall. I actually played the timpani drums here on a couple of occasions, when my Alma Mater, had their prizegiving evenings here. Little remains of the original building, and this is now a truncated version. It had the most beautiful art deco lights, which were sold for a song to a local reclamation merchant. One good thing the council did was approve the sculpture which you can see.Personally, I find this image very disturbing. When this statuary was unveiled, the local numpties decried it presumably because of its "modern" look. Regretably they didn't realise the significance of this, and how the military, acting on the orders of the establishment, shot down unarmed strikers.I hope it outlives the whims of the property developers. I further sincerely hope that even given the current political climate, that it should never happen again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.