The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Small Shop .. Big Shop

What a day!

If you look down at the EXIF data at the bottom you will see that I have finally got my new camera!

Huzzah!

But what a struggle. January 22nd I ordered it, and two months later I get it!

I ordered the camera at Jessops, as they had the best price I could find. They said it was on back order and probably a four week waiting list. Okay, no worries. I had bought the 500mm and the 30mm lenses so I had plenty to play with. Four weeks came and went, oh they said, first week of March. *sighs*

So I rung them yesterday. They had camera's in, but only the kits with the stock lens. I didn't want a stock lens so I had ordered the body only. So now I was in the ridiculous position where the camera was sat on the shelf, I couldn't have one. They wouldn't split the camera/ lens kit as it was an item of stock. A quick check around the other camera stores in Cardiff and I found out that Cardiff Camera Store had Alpha 77's in stock. So I rung them, and they put one aside yesterday.

So in I trundled into town this morning. I went to Cardiff Camera Centre first, yep, one put aside, all I had to do now was go to Jessops and get my deposit back. Jessops didn't even put up a fight! They asked why, and they shrugged their shoulders and still refused to sell me the Alpha 77 I could see behind the sales guy on the shelf, as it was a kit!

Their loss, Cardiff Camera Shop's gain! This was made even more ironic by the fact they split a kit set, as he could still sell the lens separately quite easily.

I have tried to buy independently for the past year. Everything at the Twedding was sourced independently, other than one set of bouquets from Interflora .... guess which was the only company to screw up on the day and offer us compensation and a full refund .. yep .. Interflora!

When you pass those bordered up high street big stores, just stop and wonder why! Independent is the way to go ... they give you service that are second to none .. they care!

So this is the first blip with the Alpha77 ... software hiccups aside, we are up and running!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.