earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Showers and Stripes

I slightly hesitate to admit that my key saga continues, so I relate this mainly to keep a certain overseas subscriber happy (you know who you are). Last night I came in from my bike ride and dropped my keys down in a random place, as I usually do, only to notice the scope for trouble, so I picked them back up and placed them instead on the famous key hook. My plan this morning, it being rather wet, was to catch an early train in with the bike and then cycle back, saving the faff of having to dry my gear out during the day. As it happened I just managed to miss the train by a few seconds - but it was just as well as I completely forgot to take the keys from the hook when I left and wouldn't have been able to get into the office anyway.

I think the fact that I'd put the keys in the right place kind of registered as "job done" and I didn't think anything more about them. It's funny how the mind works. So ... I had to wake Forrest to get back into the house and ended up cycling to the office in the rain. Just going up the hill out of Burley-in-Wharfedale the sun momentarily came out of the clouds, for just long enough for me to get this shot. It was still raining so all my other shots were spoiled by water drops on the lens.

The ride home by my medium length route proved to be very cold and, in fading light, without any blip opportunities. It was just as well then that I did get on the bike this morning. I must have known! At least the working day finished on a high note. After countless hours of frustration I now have my development environment completely set up as I want it. But what a fight it's been. Windows is so screwed! Trying to get Microsoft's own software running under its own operating system is a nightmare. I've lived for 2 days now in a world of meaningless error messages. The problems have still not been resolved but I've found ways to sidestep them - which is what you always seem to have to do. How do they get away with it? The irony is that I can communicate from my desktop with servers all over the world, but I've been struggling to talk to the server which sits no more than six feet away.

The boys are sorting out dinner. I'm going to collapse into the bath for a soak. And I think I might just have a beer tonight. I feel the need to catch up with quite a few good friends here, but that beer might just knock me out for the count. We'll have to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.