An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Dozy Bitch!

Back blipped 08.03.12

Also Back Blipped 06.03.12 and 05.03.12

Sometimes I surprise, nay amaze myself with my forward-thinking, organisational skills and the juggling of work, motherhood and house-keeping.

Today was one such day...... *circles date on calander*

Knowing grandpa was coming for dinner and knowing how Wednesday night dinners are always a challenge, as well as week nights being fairly busy affairs in the Damnonii house, I had decided a home made, slow cooked chicken curry was the way to go.  Dinner all ready for me coming home meaning more time could be spent catching up with grandpa and less time in the kitchen.   Fab!

Up, showered, dressed, Alan fed and seen off to school, washing in the washing machine all before 8.15am! then time to start prepping the curry.  Will I just chuck it all in the slow cooker and switch it on?  *checks time*  No, I have 15 minutes before I need to throw some colour at my pasty, complexion enhance my natural beauty with a touch of blusher and a slick of lip gloss the full works of polyfilla, sharpie eyeliner and 8 hour non-smudge (yeah right!) lippy!

Fried the onions gently till golden there's something odd about the smell of onions frying 5 mins after you've eaten your weetabix! added the carefully measured blend of spices, tossed in the plump chicken breasts followed by a tin of creamy coconut milk and a little tomato puree.  Mmmmmm......smelling divine already and looking so good I just had to take a pic!.  Once warmed through, popped it all in the slow cooker,switched it on and headed off to work feeling very smug organised.  And honking of curry!!

Dinner sorted? -  check!  Today's blip sorted? - check!  :-)))))

Arrived at work and shared with our receptionist, E, my excitement at being so organised but also my slight anxiety that I would return to a burnt out house as I am normally at home when the slow cooker is on.  Pushed that thought to the back of my mind and for the rest of they day basked in the warm glow that comes from the feeling that I really CAN juggle all my responsibilities.....I AM a Domestic Goddess!!!  So there!

Pulling into the driveway relieved to see the house had not burnt down full of anticipation of the wonderful smells that would await me as I opened the front door.......key in lock....turn handle.....open door and in.......

First thought as I stepped into the hall??? ....hmmmm, that fancy new  stick style air freshener diffuser thingy that I bought at the weekend is certainly effective....not a hint of curry in the air (right enough I had closed the kitchen door, just incase flames had been raging ;-))  Through to the kitchen.....still no curry smells........and that's when I saw it...the slow cooker switched on at the slow cooker....but not at the wall socket.   FECKITTY FECK!!!!! Oops!

We had chicken kiev instead.    Disappointing

On the upside, I now have a new power cable for my laptop so feel I have re-joined the world! :-)))

Will do my best to catch up with commenting over the next few days.....I was starting to get Blip withdrawal sympoms!!!  Chocolate helped ;-)))) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.