Back by the Bay

By MyBitOfOz

Nathalia Floods

It started raining about 1 week ago, at home I recorded over 170mm of rain over 4 days, we've not had rain like that since the floods in October '93. So of course that means floods were on the way!

That gave me problems, I was booked to attend a Field Days down in Horsham (350km away) and had to leave my wife and kids behind to look after things here. I was able to get out without too many problems but I wasn't sure if I could get back in on Friday when I was due to come home.

So I was in Horsham getting constant reports of flood levels and listening to news reports on the radio to find out what was going on. Floods move VERY slowly here because the area is so flat and the peak was predicted to hit Nathalia (our closest town, 20km away) on Thursday night.

I decided to leave Horsham a little early and got back into town before the predicted peak, this photo was taken at the Levy bank on the north side of town, what you can see is the Temporary levy they put across the Highway in times of flood.

My wife was working in the "Incident Control Centre" in town and my kids were helping sandbag homes. By the time we left it was getting dark and we had to drive the long way home to get around floodwaters.

My wife packed clothes for a few days and drove back into town, she's a Nurse and a CFA Volunteer so she will be working in both the Hospital and Incident Control Centre for the next few days.

And now the Muckatah Depression is filling (it runs through my property) so I'll have to make sure we're prepared here!

Over a decade of drought, massive storms, bushfires, now record floods!

Living here we are constantly reminded of the power of Mother Nature!







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.