Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Bee My Friend

Best seen as a BIG FRIENDLY BEE.

I thought I knew what I was going to blip today - but life can be full of surprises can't it? (not always good ones, unfortunately! lol)
Although I had a much needed lay in this morning, I've had a really busy time blitzing through the downstairs housework thoroughly today, as I have a visitor popping in tomorrow for a while (and the place badly needed doing, shame on me). I stopped at one point for a quick cuppa, and afterwards when I went to wash my cup something caught my eye through the kitchen window - a bee on one of my Hellebores , the first bee I've seen this year so far. So of course I grabbed my camera and prayed it would still be there by the time I was outside. Luckily for me said bee is obviously still pretty sluggish - not only did it stay, but it stayed for ages, enabling me to take quite a few shots. It seemed quite unphased by my presence. By the time I was back indoors and looked through the window again it had gone - but to my surprise when I went for another cuppa some time later it was back on the same flower. That little bee stayed on that one bloom for most of the afternoon, so I ended up taking 3 snapping sessions - by the end of which we almost seemed to have become friends, to the extent that I was now shooting so close to it that I was almost nudging it with my lens! We didn't exactly get to the stage where we exchanged names, addresses and phone numbers though! Maybe I should look for it on FaceBook and send it a Friend Request! Hahaha.
So my pal the laid-back bee is my blip for today - only the 3rd time I've managed to blip one, and the others were nowhere near as close!

And just to put icing on the cake the sky at sunset tonight looked like THIS!

I have a music link - a favourite band I linked not that many days ago, surely one of their greatest tracks, and almost certainly the best LIVE VERSION OF IT ON YOUTUBE .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.