The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Tree Sparrow

As I was leaving Freiston Shore yesterday I thought I spied something flitting around the hedgerow by the car park that interested me, but I was out of time, so I was determined to get back there today to confirm my suspicions.

My suspicions were correct, the hedgerow was full of Tree Sparrows, the sadly far less common cousin of the House Sparrow. I have only seen one Tree Sparrow up until now, and that was a pure fluke. I was sat in my car and one conveniently dropped onto a branch right outside the windscreen. I have increased that number to twenty one now. It was quite brilliant to watch, and quite hard to photograph.

We had an hour down there watching the Black Backed Gulls and the Canadian and Brent Geese. There were more Redshanks about than yesterday, and small flock of Avocets. I also spotted what me and Dawn suspect was a Goldeneye. You can see a few more photos of the Tree Sparrow in the Freiston Shore Flickr set I put up yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.