Punk Rock Zoologist

By CaptVickHartnel

Bush tomatoes?

Out in the park again today and I came across this bush of what appear to be small tomato like fruit. After breaking one open I found that they smell a lot like tomatoes as well, but I was, of course, not game to taste I case I was catastrophically wrong. I had search around the interwebs and found some pictures of different species of bush tomato. At first I thought they looked like Solanum centrale, commonly known as the bush raisin, but it is only found in the arid central regions of Australia.
I just now found a more likely candidate, Solanum laciniatum or the Kangaroo Apple, which looks a lot like them and is found in Victoria. However if anyone has more experience in botany and can further enlighten me, go right ahead :).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.