What another rant?

By JohnA

Guggenheim Museum

I was hoping to go for a run around Central Park today, one of my ambitions, it will unfortunately have to wait (until next time?). Hurt my knee before coming out here, so I didn't even bring my running shoes. :-( Psychological, I know, but my knee feels fine now. Still we had a nice walk there during the day, on our way to, and from, the ... Guggenhiem Museum.

This didn't start off too well, as I was told off twice before we had even got in. Once for walking underneath an exhibit, and once for my bag! Stood, listening to the audio tour, and looking at the first two exibits, within 10 minutes, I though that we'd wasted our money. Call this art? I don't. Still Mrs A saw the funny side immediately, and was giggling, embarrissingly loud. Soon she had me laughing too, and we spent the next 1 1/2 hours in hysterics. To make it worse, at the end there was an exhibit playing the sounds of the museum! Us laughing? John Chamberlain was the 'artist', bits of old car the 'art'. We couldn't take pictures, but found an example in the Metropolitan Museum later in the day.

A chillie dog for lunch! Followed by a visit to the Met - much better. A fantastic place to visit and well worth the entry fee. Only sad we didn't have enough time. Still we had another great day, finished off with a visit to a burger bar owned by the Heartland Brewery - proper beer, in New York. Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.