David J. Rose

By djrose007

My first time

There have been a few blips of mobile phones but this is my first one and of my first mobile phone.
It was issued to me by the company, Nortel Networks, and it was also their first, and last, foray into mobile phone handsets. They were a giant in telecommunications but this was a mistake and it quickly died a death, although not the phone itself. It was in 1998 and the phone was quite advanced with handsfree loudspeaker capability, plus a handsfree car kit. If you were on loudspeaker and then put it to your ear the speaker would automatically cut out and revert to the normal ear phone speaker.
The charging unit has a slot for charging a spare battery as well.

We moved from these to Nokia handsets but I wonder how many of these Nortel 922 phones are still around, and more importantly, working!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.