Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Blue to Black & White / Viva, but not to Las V

I have been taking the Viva bus in March because it is free. The drivers went on strike last fall and after settling the transit service made February and March fare free to woo back riders. I still take the GO train home but the ride to YorkU is not too bad. A bit longer and less comfortable, but worth it to save $150. Tonight, I took this bus homeward but only part way. I met up with Linda at Promenade Mall to see The Artist on $5 Tuesdays. We quite enjoyed the movie. I think I liked it better. I'm a big film buff and have seen lots of silent films.

Reg Hartt, a noted Toronto cinephile and film archivist-historian used to be my next door neighbour on Euclid Avenue in Toronto in the late 1970s and early 1980s. He's quite the character and shows ancient films in his house. Everything from silent films like Nosferatu, old wartime cartoons, and Triumph of the Will and other movies (sometimes controversial and often never screened anywhere any more) with commentary and context. I learned a lot about cinematic manipulation, propaganda, and animation from Reg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.