Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Iwan

Introducing Iwan, who I met a few nights ago, at my favorite nasi goreng (fried rice) stall, which I need to blip one day. I overheard Iwan and a friend talking about fishing, so I introduced myself. The language problems were a struggle, but they invited me to join them on a trip to a lake that stocks large carp. I had to decline, as the equipment that I have is already struggling with 4Lb bawal fish and I would have no chance against a 15Lb carp.

Yesterday, Iwan stopped by my house just as I was swimming some prototype lures in my test tank. He was very impressed with my creations and invited me on another fishing trip on a natural lake next Sunday, which I gratefully accepted. A chance to test my lures in proper surroundings after resounding success in the concrete pond.

Today I left the bike in the garage and decided to take a walking blip hunt and bumped into Iwan at my old eating house, the one that made me so sick! So I stopped for a natter, already his English skills are improving as he relaxes in my company and realizes that I am not going to judge him on his mistakes.

I collected about a dozen images, including smiley shots, but the lighting was poor and the results were not blip material. However, this more natural shot showed a lot of promise, so I decided to give it some treatment to capture the mood. A new venture for me, so I hope you like it.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.