atoll

By atoll

Broken Gravestones

Called in on way back home from my Stoke meeting at Tabley Hill Cemetery, where I have often admised the lovely chapel building but never walked around it in 20 years, let alone photographed. Built in 1902 it seems (well, according to Geograph on http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/80911 ). Don't know the architect as yet, but will try to find out now. Really nice spire and stained glass details and rather un-eccesistical roof in Rosemary clay tiles.

However, walking into the cemetery, I couldnt understand why so many headstones were fallen over...was thinking maybe vandals? Coming home and checking online I then saw this Knutsford Guardian article from June 2011 - so clearly nothing has been done about it since then.

The article implies the gravestones have been deliberately pushed over because of health and safety fears......now I would like to think that someone has got this is wrong (or I have misinterpreted), but I have an awfull nagging feeling it might just be right, as it looks to regular.....see:

http://www.knutsfordguardian.co.uk/news/9069907.Council____shame____over_cemetery/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.