The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Microcosmic toys

When I was a schoolboy my world revolved around model aeroplanes. This model diesel engine was given to me by a chap named Mick Tiernan who later became world champion at control line combat - which is an old fashioned form of model flying created when radio control was a mixture of magic and money. I thought I'd Google Mr Tiernan to see if I could find out anything about him. The first thing I clicked on was something I'd written about him several years ago. So I'm none the wiser.
These things run on a mixture of ether, paraffin and Castor oil. We used to mix our own. As a 14 year old I'd go into the chemist and buy a pint of ether. They did ask what I wanted it for - but they still let me have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.