Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Howlett's House

I went for another long run today (I'm training for the London Marathon). Along the Water of Leith to Balerno and then up to Harlaw and Threipmuir Reservoirs. I headed out to the Black Springs and then turned off to jog around Black Hill to the Green Cleugh and on to the Howe. Halfway along Loganlee Reservoir there is a ruin near the road which is marked on the map as "Howlett's House". Apparently, this was a chapel with priest's house attached, dating back to the late 16th century.

After refuelling with some chocolate, I carried on down the road to the footpath up to Castlelaw Hill. This bit was hard, but I made it (slowly) to the top of Fala Knowe and then a nice downhill stretch to home. 18 miles. I've spent the afternoon eating and sitting about, but need to get the ironing done (which has been languishing in the basket for weeks).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.