Away went the herons

Two weeks since I last had a run at Snells Beach. Today it was a late afternoon run. Very windy; only one windsurfer and this kite boarder were out to take advantage of it. Nearer the shore, the waders and gulls were quietly enjoying the evening incoming tide over the flats.

As I reached the beach front (somewhat away to the right of where I took this picture) a man arrived at the beach with two large dogs (plus a very small one). This one in particular clearly regards the birds as something for him to chase. Rather like small boys of my acquaintance. I had just got the camera ready and was approaching the first one when zoooooom went dog, and fleeeeeee into the air went the heron. This pattern was repeated along the beach, so I turned my attention to the kite boarder.

He was travelling very fast back and forth across the face of the beach not far off the sand. He was much quicker than the solitary windsurfer. His wake is rather impressive in this picture.

I like the sun hitting the headland at the southern end of Algies Bay.

As an addendum. Just after this picture was taken, the dog's owner called him back and I was then able to get closer to one heron than I usually manage. And I did like the picture. This is more different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.