EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Not very St.Patrick!

Here is a side of Luxor that I don't show you very often. Possibly because I rarely see it myself!

Luxor is of course, a tourism city. We have possibly some of the most wonderful historic sites in the World.
Some of these tourists come and stay in a 5* Hotel, some in 3*, others chose a backpackers haven, lots chose apartments.

I have been asked to source a conference venue for next year and so had a delightful couple of hours with a rather cool friend, being shown around some of Luxors finest Hotel Conference facilities. This has to be my favourite!
This is the view from the terrace that surrounds the suite on the top floor of the Sonnesta (Not sure how many floors, I think 7!)

A huge glass box, lined with the deepest, softest oriental carpet. Aubergine satin drapes edged in gold and blue Bullion fringe unveil the magnificent panoramic views of the Nile, West Bank and Luxor. NOT practical at all in my opinion! Who would be able to concentrate on the speaker with such an incredible view?!

Our 2nd favourite, is more compact and Bijoux. It is a purpose built conference pontoon, decorated in classical Arabic style, chandeliers and river level views....Coffee breaks on the terrace upstairs overlooking the river and the Theban Hills, lunch on a felucca? Perfect!

As we toured the Sonnesta Hotel, for some odd reason, I kept think 'Wedding'...'Wedding' perfect venue for a wedding! NOT, that I am planning to get married :-) But I DO plan to have a pool day when it is warm enough. A gal must treat herself now and again....Life Balance :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.