Fewer Bridges...

I think I only recently became aware of the gramattical difference between 'fewer' and 'less'. I suppose they're rules can stay pretty well hidden underneath natural language use where they mostly fit or incorrectly fit in spoken sentences. It popped up in the Now Show this week and my curiosity got the better of me so I looked it up and it turns out is has to do with mass and counting nouns. You could have fewer bridges but you need to have less water. You shouldn't have less bridges and you most certainly wouldn't have fewer water.

---------------------------------------

Notes on the 30 Day Challenge?
From one bridge to it's neighbour. Today, Day 12, the subject is Recent Accomplishment. I decided to illustrate my commuting to and from work. Bethany didn't actually know what accomplishment meant so once I explained it she went for feeding the birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.