Bundle

By Bundle

Cricket at Roopangarh

Today was a resting up day but by the afternoon we had rested up and were ready for a game of cricket.

The staff at the Fort took little persuasion to join us for the afternoon and we managed two teams of eight. The setting was a dream as you can see from my blip.
We played two Eight-8 matches: there was some very skilled fast and spin bowling from the locals but some of us visitors re-discovered long-forgotten skills and didn't let the side down. I, however, am still smarting from failing to stop a ball that came whizzing past me as I day-dreamed for a split second. When Rahul "Jammy" Dravid retired last week he was reported in The Times of India as saying: "When one gets out, one can get over it in 15-20 minutes, but missing a catch stays with you for a very long time that hurts in lots of ways". Oh how that resonated when I read it!

It didn't spoil my day though: despite an amazing breakfast in the early morning sunshine on the vast terrace, and a delicious dinner laid out for us in the banqueting hall which we graced wearing sarees and Rajasthani dress, for me our game of cricket was still the highlight of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.