An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Deja vu...

Backblipped 18.03.12

Do not adjust your sets.....yes I have blipped this scene before. Quite recently infact, but I love this little copse of trees so I'm indulging myself by blipping it again so soon.

Not a great photo but the best of the bunch I took today (all from the car! Don't panic, I wasn't driving :0)

Another early(ish) rise. The alarm went off at 8am. It's amazing how much less I resent the alarm at the weekend compared to weekdays! :-))

John (my stepdad or as he's better known - (Alan's) Grandpa :-) arrived at 11am and we all headed up to the new house (I still smile at calling a house built in 1900 the "new" house....but it's new to us! :) The weather was a bit dull and cloudy but as we passed the trees we could see blue sky in the distance and 15 minutes later when we reached the house, the sky was blue, the sun was shining and we were all smiling. Grinning infact! :D

Spent a lovely afternoon at the house. Bacon rolls for lunch (bacon cooked to crisp perfection in the Aga and the rolls toasted in the bottom oven) followed by tea and chocolate cake. Alan went to the study (the only room with a telly at the mo) to watch a DVD, David went out to the garden to hit a few balls into the golf net, I floated around with the Dulux paint chart trying to make up my mind about colours and grandpa sat in the sunlight drawing room reading the Sunday papers.

It was lovely to see him so relaxed and content when I know he misses my mum dreadfully. He still can't mention her name without tears springing to his eyes but he is keeping himself busy and was telling us today that he has even started cooking himself meals from recipe books!

He then proceeded to tell me the old story of the original TV cook, Fanny Craddock and her husband Johnny who, when Fanny made doughnuts on their cooking programme, Johnny ended the show by looking straight at the camera saying, "that's all for this week and if you are trying this at home, I hope all your doughnuts turn out like Fanny's!"

hahahahahahaha! He's told us that story a million times but knows it never fails to crease me up! :D

D's sis Ele and hubby Kenny popped in mid afternoon after dropping my niece Jennifer at an open day at Stirling University. More tea and cake! Life can be such a chore sometimes! ;-)) They left, we stayed on and had dinner (we really are playing houses!) then home in time for bed.

A really lovely day :-))) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.