The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ever get the feeling...

...you are being watched.

May be best viewed under the lens.

I was out early on a beautiful Spring morning, trying to get bokehed photographs of the heavy dew on the short grass of Dallam Tower Park when I came across these fellows. The herd of fallow deer was almost hidden in a dip, but for their watchful heads.

And Spring it is now. The resident birds are becoming more vocal, a goldfinch was tinkling from our Dawn Redwood Tree; while in Dallam, treecreepers have suddenly become conspicuous through their sweet quiet song. The nuthatches are broadcasting their presence widely with loud repeated notes. Both this morning and yesterday, the blackcap that has overwintered with us was warbling fluidly from the blackthorn in the lane.

I came home for breakfast, then went out again to see the wild daffodils. The nearest ones are 5 minutes from the house, and involve a certain amount of trespass. I walked on from there to see them at Far Arnside where they flower more profusely. I have uploaded a few photographs on Flickr.

The Iron Lady succeeded in something I never expected. Meryl Streep's portrayal of Mrs T in her vulnerable old age made her almost likable. I had forgotten just how eventful and fractious her reign was. Extraordinary times. If nothing else I owe Mrs T my career in nature conservation, when the cuts in university budgets led to the termination of my post-doctoral university post. I felt pretty sore at the time, but looking back from afar, it was the best thing that happened to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.