Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Black Capped Chickadee

What a crazy weather day....I was out for a nice walk around the neighborhood as I was seeing some signs of blue skies! Then, as I returned the skies opened up and it began to rain, which quickly changed to snow:) My timing was again perfect :))))

Today I actually was able to photograph the black Capped Chickadee, which is usually too fast for me. He was so fun to watch in the tree, in fact there were 3 of them which kept darting from tree to tree. This little guy finally settled in a mossy tree where he grabbed hold almost like a woodpecker and started pulling bugs and grubs out of the moss! So interesting to watch him, and I certainly learned something new!

The chickadee is almost universally considered "cute" thanks to its oversized round head, tiny body, and curiosity about everything, including humans. The chickadee's black cap and bib; white cheeks; gray back, wings, and tail; and whitish underside with buffy sides are distinctive. Its habit of investigating people and everything else in its home territory, and quickness to discover bird feeders, make it one of the first birds most people learn.

To see more of my neighborhood walk photos from today, you can visit my Flickr site, Click Here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.